Individuals recognised for excellence in tourism

5 September 2018

Three individuals have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the tourism industry at tonight’s WA Tourism Conference Dinner.

As part of the 2018 Perth Airport WA Tourism Awards, two new individual awards were introduced, with the winners announced at tonight’s event, alongside the winner of the Sir David Brand Young Achiever Medal. The two new awards recognise excellence in customer service and Aboriginal tourism.

The 2018 Perth Airport WA Tourism Award for Individual Excellence in Customer Service was awarded to Jo Naronha from Crown Perth, recognised for his personal and engaging customer service style while showing compassion and understanding.

In the 2018 Perth Airport WA Tourism Award for Individual Excellence in Aboriginal Tourism category, Ngurrangga Tours’ Clinton Walker was recognised as a proud advocate for Aboriginal culture and an outstanding contributor to the tourism industry.

The Sir David Brand Young Achiever Medal was awarded to Emily Allen from Tourism Western Australia. The judges commented that Emily was a dedicated and passionate young tourism professional with a long and successful career ahead.

Tourism Council WA Chief Executive Officer Evan Hall said the new individual awards provided an opportunity to recognise the work being done, often behind-the-scenes, by people in the tourism industry across WA.

“We have so many bright and passionate people working hard every day to service visitors and create vibrant tourism product and experiences,” he said.

“Tonight’s awards pay homage to those who go above and beyond, and I congratulate all the winners and finalists.”

Mr Hall said the finalists in the Individual Excellence in Aboriginal Tourism category showed that Western Australia offered fantastic Aboriginal tourism experiences, which many visitors to the State were seeking.

“While WA has amazing existing Aboriginal tourism product, we have so much potential to grow,” he said.

“Currently, a program to develop such experiences, the Aboriginal Tourism Development Program, administered by WAITOC and funded by the State Government, does not have funding beyond the end of this financial year.

“The tourism industry urges the State Government to commit to future funding for this program to ensure the development of more magnificent Aboriginal tourism experiences.”

The finalists in each category were:

Individual Excellence in Customer Service

  • Tania Brown, Sandalford Wines
  • Zac Leach, Pullman Resort Bunker Bay
  • Steeve Lindecker, Crown Perth
  • Jo Naronha, Crown Perth
  • Craig Pullin, Beach House at Bayside
  • Lori-Ann Shibish, Entopia Wines

Individual Excellence in Aboriginal Tourism

  • Ted Carlton, Waringarri Aboriginal Arts
  • Brian Lee, Kooljaman at Cape Leveque
  • Walter McGuire, Go Cultural Tours
  • Clinton Walker, Ngurrangga Tours
  • Josh Whiteland, Koomal Dreaming

Sir David Brand Young Achiever Medal

  • Emily Allen, Tourism Western Australia
  • Jacqueline Baril, Eat The Street Walking Tours
  • Warren Graham, Busselton Jetty

- Ends -

For media enquiries please contact Tourism Council WA Corporate Affairs Manager Leslee Hall / 0439 874 992